11. Fountains

Apostelbrunnen, Marktbrunnen, Georgsbrunnen and Christophorusbrunnen.

Read the story

Rottweil can rightly be called a fountain town. Everywhere in town, there are fountains that gush away as they did in times gone by.

In the late Middle Ages, this budding town mostly had houses with cistern-like wells that easily went down to 10 metres deep. As the town centre gradually expanded, however, it was necessary to exploit water resources outside the town and to channel this precious water via wooden pipes to the new fountains being built. The earlier “house wells” were being used as latrines. At the end of the 16th century, there were 26 fountains in the town, 8 in the old town and 14 in open fields.

There was a so-called “fountain master” who was responsible for keeping the water flowing, preventing the wells and fountains from freezing in winter and making sure they did not get contaminated. As early as in 1591, the fountain master was officially permitted to wear “the ancestral colours of the town”, free of charge. The colours red and white were those worn by Rottweil’s uniformed employees.

Over and over again, the council had to intervene when dirty clothes were illegally washed in the fountains or other improper use was revealed. In 1625, complaints were heard that “all sorts of waste and trash” were dumped into fountains, “thus not only bringing upon man and beast all kinds of diseases, but also bringing about great fire risks and general misery, not only rotten doom”. In 1656, the council addressed the saddlers, shoemakers and hatters, the furriers, tanners and hosiers, threatening severe penalties if they “stuffed, pressed or washed” furs, tanned or untanned skins, hats, stockings and “other things of that kind” in the wells.
Animals were allowed to quench their thirst at the “mouse fountains”, the small outlets below the troughs. Besides this, fountains were important water reservoirs in the event of fire.

The people of Rottweil placed great value on the artistic features of the fountains.

In front of the town hall, you’ll find the Apostelbrunnen:
Depicted here are the apostles Peter, James the Elder and John. They symbolize faith, hope and love.

In front of the “Predigerkirche”, there’s the Christopherusbrunnen
For centuries, St. Christopher has been keeping a watchful eye on travellers on what is now the “Friedrichsplatz”.

Leaving town via the “Hochbrücke” you see the Georgs- oder Grafenbrunnen, depicting Saint George, St. Catherine and Our Lady.

At the main junction, there is the Marktbrunnen, an extraordinary political monument in Gothic and Renaissance style. The figures on the four levels show the human virtues of faith, love, hope and strength as well as the vices avarice, arrogance, sloth and rage. Note the biblical personalities from the Old Testament and from antiquity, David, Judith and Caesar, and the Sun and the planets, Jupiter, Saturn, Mars and Mercury.

The Swiss standard is held by the figure on top of the pyramid. In this way, the people from Rottweil announce to all new arrivals that they had had an alliance with the Swiss Confederation.

The fountain used to be painted in different colours. In 1607, the fountain shaft was gilded by the goldsmith Sebastian Dreher, and feathers were put on the sailor’s beret.

From the late 19th century onwards and even after World War I the confederate standard bearer had to wear a spiked helmet.

Location

Information

You want to know more?
In our tourist information office we will gladly tell you more about our many guided tours:

Tourist-Information Rottweil
Hauptstraße 21
78628 Rottweil

Tel: +49 741 494 280
E-Mail: tourist-information@rottweil.de

Apostelbrunnen

„Apostelbrunnen“

Christophorusbrunnen

„Christophorusbrunnen“

Georgsbrunnen

„Georgsbrunnen“

Der Marktbrunnen

„Marktbrunnen“ (market fountain)

Der Marktbrunnen um 1950

The „Marktbrunnen“ around 1950

Read the story

Rottweil can rightly be called a fountain town. Everywhere in town, there are fountains that gush away as they did in times gone by.

In the late Middle Ages, this budding town mostly had houses with cistern-like wells that easily went down to 10 metres deep. As the town centre gradually expanded, however, it was necessary to exploit water resources outside the town and to channel this precious water via wooden pipes to the new fountains being built. The earlier “house wells” were being used as latrines. At the end of the 16th century, there were 26 fountains in the town, 8 in the old town and 14 in open fields.

There was a so-called “fountain master” who was responsible for keeping the water flowing, preventing the wells and fountains from freezing in winter and making sure they did not get contaminated. As early as in 1591, the fountain master was officially permitted to wear “the ancestral colours of the town”, free of charge. The colours red and white were those worn by Rottweil’s uniformed employees.

Over and over again, the council had to intervene when dirty clothes were illegally washed in the fountains or other improper use was revealed. In 1625, complaints were heard that “all sorts of waste and trash” were dumped into fountains, “thus not only bringing upon man and beast all kinds of diseases, but also bringing about great fire risks and general misery, not only rotten doom”. In 1656, the council addressed the saddlers, shoemakers and hatters, the furriers, tanners and hosiers, threatening severe penalties if they “stuffed, pressed or washed” furs, tanned or untanned skins, hats, stockings and “other things of that kind” in the wells.
Animals were allowed to quench their thirst at the “mouse fountains”, the small outlets below the troughs. Besides this, fountains were important water reservoirs in the event of fire.

The people of Rottweil placed great value on the artistic features of the fountains.

In front of the town hall, you’ll find the Apostelbrunnen:
Depicted here are the apostles Peter, James the Elder and John. They symbolize faith, hope and love.

In front of the “Predigerkirche”, there’s the Christopherusbrunnen
For centuries, St. Christopher has been keeping a watchful eye on travellers on what is now the “Friedrichsplatz”.

Leaving town via the “Hochbrücke” you see the Georgs- oder Grafenbrunnen, depicting Saint George, St. Catherine and Our Lady.

At the main junction, there is the Marktbrunnen, an extraordinary political monument in Gothic and Renaissance style. The figures on the four levels show the human virtues of faith, love, hope and strength as well as the vices avarice, arrogance, sloth and rage. Note the biblical personalities from the Old Testament and from antiquity, David, Judith and Caesar, and the Sun and the planets, Jupiter, Saturn, Mars and Mercury.

The Swiss standard is held by the figure on top of the pyramid. In this way, the people from Rottweil announce to all new arrivals that they had had an alliance with the Swiss Confederation.

The fountain used to be painted in different colours. In 1607, the fountain shaft was gilded by the goldsmith Sebastian Dreher, and feathers were put on the sailor’s beret.

From the late 19th century onwards and even after World War I the confederate standard bearer had to wear a spiked helmet.

Locations

Information

You want to know more?
In our tourist information office we will gladly tell you more about our many guided tours:

Tourist-Information Rottweil
Hauptstraße 21
78628 Rottweil

Tel: +49 741 494 280
E-Mail: tourist-information@rottweil.de

Apostelbrunnen

„Apostelbrunnen“

Christophorusbrunnen

„Christophorusbrunnen“

Georgsbrunnen

„Georgsbrunnen“

Der Marktbrunnen

„Marktbrunnen“ (market fountain)

Der Marktbrunnen um 1950

The „Marktbrunnen“ around 1950

11. Brunnen

Infos

Apostelbrunnen, Marktbrunnen, Georgsbrunnen und Christophorusbrunnen.

Sie möchten mehr hierzu erfahren?
In der Tourist-Information beraten wir Sie gerne über unser vielfältiges Führungsangebot:

Tourist-Information Rottweil
Hauptstraße 21
78628 Rottweil

Tel: 0741 494 280
E-Mail: tourist-information@rottweil.de

Die Geschichte zum Nachlesen

Rottweil kann man mit Recht als Stadt der Brunnen bezeichnen. Überall in der Stadt sprudeln Brunnen wie in früheren Zeiten.

In der jungen, spätmittelalterlichen Stadt gab es zunächst in den Häusern zisternenähnliche Brunnen, die ohne weiteres Tiefen von 10 Metern erreichen konnten. Mit der zunehmenden Bebauung des Stadtkerns wurde es aber notwendig, außerhalb der Stadt liegende Wasservorkommen zu fassen und das kostbare Nass über Deichelleitungen zu den neu entstehenden Brunnen zu führen. Die bisherigen „Hausbrunnen“ wurden als Latrinen genutzt. Am Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts gab es 26 Brunnen in der Stadt, 8 Brunnen in der Altstadt und 14 Brunnen auf freiem Feld.

Für die Brunnen war der Brunnenmeister verantwortlich, der Sorge tragen musste, dass das Wasser immer lief, im Winter nicht einfror und die Brunnen nicht verunreinigt wurden. Dem Brunnenmeister war schon 1591 „der Stadt Farb nach altem Herkommen“, also die rot-weiße Dienstkleidung der Rottweiler Stadtbediensteten unentgeltlich bewilligt worden.

Immer wieder musste der Rat einschreiten, wenn unerlaubterweise Wäsche in den Brunnen gewaschen wurde oder andere missbräuchliche Nutzungen bekannt wurden. 1625 waren Klagen laut geworden, dass „aller Wuost und unrath“ in die Brunnen geworfen würde und „dahero dan nit allein dem menschen und Vieh allerhandt krankheiten, sondern auch grosse feürsnoth und gantzer gemeiner statt verderblicher Untergang herfliessen könne“. 1656 wandte sich der Rat an die Sattler, die Schuh- und Hutmacher, die Kürschner, Gerber und Hosenstricker und drohte ihnen hohe Strafen an, falls sie Felle, gegerbte oder ungegerbte Häute, Hüte, Strümpfe und „anderes dergleichen“ in den Brunnen „stopfen, drucken oder in ihnen wäschen“.
Die Tiere durften an den kleinen Ausflüssen unterhalb am Brunnentrog, dem „Mausbrünnle“, ihren Durst stillen. Auch waren die Brunnen wichtige Wasservorräte für den Brandfall.

Großen Wert legten die Rottweiler auf die künstlerische Ausgestaltung der Brunnen.

Vor dem alten Rathaus steht der Apostelbrunnen:
Hier sind Petrus, Jakobus der Ältere und Johannes zu sehen, als Sinnbild von Glaube, Hoffnung und Liebe.

Vor der Predigerkirche befindet sich der Christopherusbrunnen
Seit Jahrhunderten wacht hier der heilige Christophorus am heutigen Friedrichsplatz über die Reisenden.

Vor der Hochbrücke stadtauswärts ist der Georgs- oder Grafenbrunnen zu sehen mit den Heiligen Georg, Katharina und der Gottesmutter.

An der Hauptkreuzung steht der Marktbrunnen, der ein außergewöhnliches politisches Denkmal in Stil der Gotik und Renaissance darstellt.  Die Figuren auf den vier Ebenen zeigen die menschlichen Tugenden Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung, Stärke sowie die Laster Geiz, Hoffart, Trägheit und Zorn. Zu sehen sind die Helden des Alten Testaments und der Antike David, Judith und Cäsar – und die Planeten Sonne, Jupiter, Saturn, Mars und Merkur.
Auf der Spitze der Pyramide steht ein Schweizer Fähnrich. So zeigten die Rottweiler allen Ankommenden, dass sie mit der Schweizer Eidgenossenschaft im Bündnis waren.
Der Brunnen war einst farbig gefasst. 1607 wurde der Brunnenstock von Goldschmied Sebastian Dreher vergoldet und das Barett des Landsknechtes erhielt Federn.
Vom späten 19. Jahrhundert an bis nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg musste der Eidgenosse eine Pickelhaube tragen.

Standort

Apostelbrunnen

Apostelbrunnen

Christophorusbrunnen

Christophorusbrunnen

Georgsbrunnen

Georgsbrunnen

Der Marktbrunnen

Marktbrunnen

Der Marktbrunnen um 1950

Der Marktbrunnen um 1950

Infos

Apostelbrunnen, Marktbrunnen, Georgsbrunnen und Christophorusbrunnen.

Sie möchten mehr hierzu erfahren?
In der Tourist-Information beraten wir Sie gerne über unser vielfältiges Führungsangebot:

Tourist-Information Rottweil
Hauptstraße 21
78628 Rottweil

Tel: 0741 494 280
E-Mail: tourist-information@rottweil.de

Die Geschichte zum Nachlesen

Rottweil kann man mit Recht als Stadt der Brunnen bezeichnen. Überall in der Stadt sprudeln Brunnen wie in früheren Zeiten.

In der jungen, spätmittelalterlichen Stadt gab es zunächst in den Häusern zisternenähnliche Brunnen, die ohne weiteres Tiefen von 10 Metern erreichen konnten. Mit der zunehmenden Bebauung des Stadtkerns wurde es aber notwendig, außerhalb der Stadt liegende Wasservorkommen zu fassen und das kostbare Nass über Deichelleitungen zu den neu entstehenden Brunnen zu führen. Die bisherigen „Hausbrunnen“ wurden als Latrinen genutzt. Am Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts gab es 26 Brunnen in der Stadt, 8 Brunnen in der Altstadt und 14 Brunnen auf freiem Feld.

Für die Brunnen war der Brunnenmeister verantwortlich, der Sorge tragen musste, dass das Wasser immer lief, im Winter nicht einfror und die Brunnen nicht verunreinigt wurden. Dem Brunnenmeister war schon 1591 „der Stadt Farb nach altem Herkommen“, also die rot-weiße Dienstkleidung der Rottweiler Stadtbediensteten unentgeltlich bewilligt worden.

Immer wieder musste der Rat einschreiten, wenn unerlaubterweise Wäsche in den Brunnen gewaschen wurde oder andere missbräuchliche Nutzungen bekannt wurden. 1625 waren Klagen laut geworden, dass „aller Wuost und unrath“ in die Brunnen geworfen würde und „dahero dan nit allein dem menschen und Vieh allerhandt krankheiten, sondern auch grosse feürsnoth und gantzer gemeiner statt verderblicher Untergang herfliessen könne“. 1656 wandte sich der Rat an die Sattler, die Schuh- und Hutmacher, die Kürschner, Gerber und Hosenstricker und drohte ihnen hohe Strafen an, falls sie Felle, gegerbte oder ungegerbte Häute, Hüte, Strümpfe und „anderes dergleichen“ in den Brunnen „stopfen, drucken oder in ihnen wäschen“.
Die Tiere durften an den kleinen Ausflüssen unterhalb am Brunnentrog, dem „Mausbrünnle“, ihren Durst stillen. Auch waren die Brunnen wichtige Wasservorräte für den Brandfall.

Großen Wert legten die Rottweiler auf die künstlerische Ausgestaltung der Brunnen.

Vor dem alten Rathaus steht der Apostelbrunnen:
Hier sind Petrus, Jakobus der Ältere und Johannes zu sehen, als Sinnbild von Glaube, Hoffnung und Liebe.

Vor der Predigerkirche befindet sich der Christopherusbrunnen
Seit Jahrhunderten wacht hier der heilige Christophorus am heutigen Friedrichsplatz über die Reisenden.

Vor der Hochbrücke stadtauswärts ist der Georgs- oder Grafenbrunnen zu sehen mit den Heiligen Georg, Katharina und der Gottesmutter.

An der Hauptkreuzung steht der Marktbrunnen, der ein außergewöhnliches politisches Denkmal in Stil der Gotik und Renaissance darstellt.  Die Figuren auf den vier Ebenen zeigen die menschlichen Tugenden Glaube, Liebe, Hoffnung, Stärke sowie die Laster Geiz, Hoffart, Trägheit und Zorn. Zu sehen sind die Helden des Alten Testaments und der Antike David, Judith und Cäsar – und die Planeten Sonne, Jupiter, Saturn, Mars und Merkur.
Auf der Spitze der Pyramide steht ein Schweizer Fähnrich. So zeigten die Rottweiler allen Ankommenden, dass sie mit der Schweizer Eidgenossenschaft im Bündnis waren.
Der Brunnen war einst farbig gefasst. 1607 wurde der Brunnenstock von Goldschmied Sebastian Dreher vergoldet und das Barett des Landsknechtes erhielt Federn.
Vom späten 19. Jahrhundert an bis nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg musste der Eidgenosse eine Pickelhaube tragen.

Standort

Apostelbrunnen

Apostelbrunnen

Christophorusbrunnen

Christophorusbrunnen

Georgsbrunnen

Georgsbrunnen

Der Marktbrunnen

Marktbrunnen

Der Marktbrunnen um 1950

Der Marktbrunnen um 1950