7. Old Town Hall

First mentioned in 1321, council hall dated 1521.

Read the story

Walking through the Black Gate, down the main street or “Hauptstraße”, you will find yourself in front of the old town hall, the “Altes Rathaus”. As early as in 1321, a municipal court record mentions the words “our town hall”. At that time, the town hall was a two-storey building, with the ground floor acting as a marketplace. The first floor housed the council chamber that could be reached from the rear side by a high, outdoor stairway.

Around the year 1500, there was a lot of construction work being done in Rottweil. Two extra floors were added to the tower of the “Kapellenkirche”, and the Gothic nave was constructed in the “Heilig Kreuz Münster”. The town hall was extended as well and received its late Gothic facade with six-paned windows – all that in order to present the respectable image of the town in a dignified manner and to meet the increasing demand for space that the administration and jurisdiction of an imperial town required. In 1521, the council hall was furnished for 80 council members – with wood panelling on the walls and a coffered ceiling with golden rosettes in Renaissance style. The windows were decorated with elaborate stained glass. One of them, in the upper segment, shows the Rottweil “time plate”, a sundial painted by the glass painter Martin Pfender in 1533, which illustrates the folk hero William Tell’s apple shot. Thirty years later, the northern side of the town hall was extended, and the staircase was moved indoors. The town hall was given a new, Renaissance-style entrance. At the top of the window, above the balcony, you see a pelican feeding its chicks with its own blood – this symbolises Christian charity and a civic sense of community.

As early as in 1604, the town introduced a penalty for council members who came late for meetings. This was the first time that details of this misconduct were documented. The penalty was presumably a fine. In 1618, the municipal accounts record payment for a “small clock on the town hall”.

In 1761/62, the councillors granted themselves a stately new stove to replace the old, run-down stove which was “torn down to prevent a catastrophe”. Perhaps the old stove was not really that run-down, because mayor Joseph Matthauer actually bought it for a little more than 18 guilders and set it up in his own house. The new clay stove top is also crowned with a pelican.

Being a place for taking important decisions was not the only function of the council hall. There were opulent feasts with high-ranking visitors, and toasting guests with a drink was “eagerly practiced”. When, in 1705, Franz Maximilian zu Königsegg-Aulendorf collected the town’s tribute to Emperor Joseph I, the high-ranking gentlemen consumed eight and a half dozen larks, 440 snails, fish and a deer pickled in juniper berries. They had artichokes, and, for the first time, a messenger brought potatoes from the city of Constance to Rottweil. To prepare all these delicacies, a hundredweight of butter was used. In addition, the guests could indulge in eating candied fruit, cinnamon-flavoured almonds, lemon sponge cake, macaroons and sweets from a Rottenburg confectioner. Of course, good wine was not to be missed, and, in the end, they were served coffee with “Kirsch” or cherry brandy. Musicians played for entertainment, and every once in a while a salute was fired.

In 1918, the town hall was connected to the neighbouring house that now accommodates the tourist information office. The bay window is worth a look. In the centre, you see the expressive emblem of the braid maker Hans Caspar Sichler, showing the year 1713 and the letters “HCS”. The sign displays a reel with an artfully entwined braid, while the crest shows a man holding two sickles.

Today, the old town hall accommodates the offices of the mayor, the town administration and the citizen’s information office. The old council hall is only used for festive occasions, while the town council meets in the new town hall.

Location

Information

You want to know more?
In our tourist information office we will gladly tell you more about our many guided tours:

Tourist-Information Rottweil
Hauptstraße 21
78628 Rottweil

Tel: +49 741 494 280
E-Mail: tourist-information@rottweil.de

Das Alte Rathaus heute

The “Altes Rathaus” (old town hall) today

Das Alte Rathaus um 1930

The “Altes Rathaus” around 1930

Das Alte Rathaus und der Apostelbrunnen in der Fußgängerzone

The “Altes Rathaus” and the “Apostelbrunnen” (apostle fountain) in the pedestrian zone

The tiled stove in the council hall

The pelican on the tiled stove in the council hall

Read the story

Walking through the Black Gate, down the main street or “Hauptstraße”, you will find yourself in front of the old town hall, the “Altes Rathaus”. As early as in 1321, a municipal court record mentions the words “our town hall”. At that time, the town hall was a two-storey building, with the ground floor acting as a marketplace. The first floor housed the council chamber that could be reached from the rear side by a high, outdoor stairway.

Around the year 1500, there was a lot of construction work being done in Rottweil. Two extra floors were added to the tower of the “Kapellenkirche”, and the Gothic nave was constructed in the “Heilig Kreuz Münster”. The town hall was extended as well and received its late Gothic facade with six-paned windows – all that in order to present the respectable image of the town in a dignified manner and to meet the increasing demand for space that the administration and jurisdiction of an imperial town required. In 1521, the council hall was furnished for 80 council members – with wood panelling on the walls and a coffered ceiling with golden rosettes in Renaissance style. The windows were decorated with elaborate stained glass. One of them, in the upper segment, shows the Rottweil “time plate”, a sundial painted by the glass painter Martin Pfender in 1533, which illustrates the folk hero William Tell’s apple shot. Thirty years later, the northern side of the town hall was extended, and the staircase was moved indoors. The town hall was given a new, Renaissance-style entrance. At the top of the window, above the balcony, you see a pelican feeding its chicks with its own blood – this symbolises Christian charity and a civic sense of community.

As early as in 1604, the town introduced a penalty for council members who came late for meetings. This was the first time that details of this misconduct were documented. The penalty was presumably a fine. In 1618, the municipal accounts record payment for a “small clock on the town hall”.

In 1761/62, the councillors granted themselves a stately new stove to replace the old, run-down stove which was “torn down to prevent a catastrophe”. Perhaps the old stove was not really that run-down, because mayor Joseph Matthauer actually bought it for a little more than 18 guilders and set it up in his own house. The new clay stove top is also crowned with a pelican.

Being a place for taking important decisions was not the only function of the council hall. There were opulent feasts with high-ranking visitors, and toasting guests with a drink was “eagerly practiced”. When, in 1705, Franz Maximilian zu Königsegg-Aulendorf collected the town’s tribute to Emperor Joseph I, the high-ranking gentlemen consumed eight and a half dozen larks, 440 snails, fish and a deer pickled in juniper berries. They had artichokes, and, for the first time, a messenger brought potatoes from the city of Constance to Rottweil. To prepare all these delicacies, a hundredweight of butter was used. In addition, the guests could indulge in eating candied fruit, cinnamon-flavoured almonds, lemon sponge cake, macaroons and sweets from a Rottenburg confectioner. Of course, good wine was not to be missed, and, in the end, they were served coffee with “Kirsch” or cherry brandy. Musicians played for entertainment, and every once in a while a salute was fired.

In 1918, the town hall was connected to the neighbouring house that now accommodates the tourist information office. The bay window is worth a look. In the centre, you see the expressive emblem of the braid maker Hans Caspar Sichler, showing the year 1713 and the letters “HCS”. The sign displays a reel with an artfully entwined braid, while the crest shows a man holding two sickles.

Today, the old town hall accommodates the offices of the mayor, the town administration and the citizen’s information office. The old council hall is only used for festive occasions, while the town council meets in the new town hall.

Location

Information

You want to know more?
In our tourist information office we will gladly tell you more about our many guided tours:

Tourist-Information Rottweil
Hauptstraße 21
78628 Rottweil

Tel: +49 741 494 280
E-Mail: tourist-information@rottweil.de

Das Alte Rathaus heute

The “Altes Rathaus” (old town hall) today

Das Alte Rathaus um 1930

The “Altes Rathaus” around 1930

Das Alte Rathaus und der Apostelbrunnen in der Fußgängerzone

The “Altes Rathaus” and the “Apostelbrunnen” (apostle fountain) in the pedestrian zone

The tiled stove in the council hall

The pelican on the tiled stove in the council hall

7. Altes Rathaus

Infos

1321 erstmals erwähnt, 1521 Einbau des Ratssaales.

Sie möchten mehr hierzu erfahren?
In der Tourist-Information beraten wir Sie gerne über unser vielfältiges Führungsangebot:

Tourist-Information Rottweil
Hauptstraße 21
78628 Rottweil

Tel: 0741 494 280
E-Mail: tourist-information@rottweil.de

Die Geschichte zum Nachlesen

Wenn Sie durch das schwarze Tor die obere Hauptstraße hinunter gehen, „die Stadt nab“ wie man in Rottweil sagt, dann stehen Sie nach wenigen Schritten vor dem alten Rathaus. Schon im Jahr 1321 ist in einer Stadtgerichtsurkunde von „unserem Rathaus“ die Rede. Damals war das Rathaus noch eingeschossig und das Erdgeschoss diente zu Marktzwecken. Im ersten Stock lag die Ratsstube, die man von hinten, „von dem gäßlin beim kirchhofe“ aus, über eine hohe Freitreppe erreichen konnte.

Um das Jahr 1500 herrschte in Rottweil rege Bautätigkeit. Der Turm der Kapellenkirche wurde um zwei Stockwerke erhöht, im Heilig Kreuz Münster wurde das gotische Langhaus errichtet. Auch das Rathaus wurde erweitert und erhielt die spätgotische Fassade mit den sechsteiligen Fenstern, um das Ansehen der Stadt in würdiger Form zu zeigen und den gesteigerten Platzbedarf der reichsstädtischen Verwaltung und Rechtsprechung zu entsprechen. 1521 wurde der Ratssaal für 80 Ratsangehörige eingerichtet – mit seiner Holztäfelung an den Wänden und einer Kassettendecke mit goldenen Rosetten im Stil der Renaissance. Die Fenster zieren kunstvolle Glasgemälde, z.B. die Rottweiler „Zit“-Scheibe, eine Sonnenuhr des Glasmalers Martin Pfender von 1553 mit dem Tell-Schuss im Oberbild. 30 Jahre später entstand der Anbau an der Nordseite des Rathauses und das Treppenhaus konnte ins Gebäudeinnere verlegt werden. Das Rathaus erhielt einen neuen Eingang mit Renaissanceaufbau. Über dem Balkon oberhalb des Fensters sieht man einen Pelikan, der seine Jungen mit seinem Blut ernährt – ein Sinnbild für christliche Nächstenliebe und bürgerlichen Gemeinsinn.

Schon 1604 wurde erstmals und sehr präzise das verspätete Erscheinen von Ratsmitgliedern bei Sitzungsbeginn vermutlich mit einer Geldstrafe bestraft. 1618 erscheint ein „Uhrlein uf dem Rathaus“ in den Stadtrechnungen.

1761/62 leisteten sich die Räte einen stattlichen neuen Ofen, weil der ruinöse alte Ofen „um besorgenden Unglücks… hinweggebrochen“ wurde. Der alte Ofen schien aber doch nicht so ruinös gewesen zu sein, denn Amtsbürgermeister Joseph Matthauer kaufte ihn für etwas mehr als 18 Gulden auf und übernahm ihn in sein eigenes Haus. Auch der neue Ofen hat auf seinem tönernen Oberbau einen Pelikan als Bekrönung.

Im Ratssaal traf man nicht nur wichtige Entscheidungen. Bei hohen Besuchen wurde auch kräftig getafelt und eifrig das „Zutrinken geübt“. Als 1705 Franz Maximilian zu Königsegg-Aulendorf die Huldigung der Stadt für Kaiser Joseph I. entgegennahm, verspeisten die hohen Herren beim Festmahl neben 8 ½ Dutzend Lerchen auch 440 Schnecken sowie Fische und einen Hirsch, der in Wacholderbeeren eingelegt war. Es gab Artischocken und ein Bote brachte erstmalig Kartoffeln aus Konstanz nach Rottweil. Zur Zubereitung all dieser Köstlichkeiten hatte man einen Zentner Butter verarbeitet. Man gönnte sich zudem kandierte Früchte, Zimtmandeln, Zitronenbisquit, Makronen und Konfekt von einem Konditor aus Rottenburg. Natürlich durfte ein guter Wein nicht fehlen und zum Schluss wurde Kaffee mit Kirschwasser gereicht. Zur Unterhaltung spielte die Musik und immer wieder wurde Salut geschossen.

1918 wurde das Rathaus mit dem Nachbarhaus, in dem die Tourist-Information untergebracht ist, vereinigt. Ein Blick auf den interessanten Erker lohnt sich. Im Mittelfeld befindet sich das sprechende Wappen des Bortenmachers Hans Caspar Sichler mit der Jahreszahl 1713 und den Buchstaben „HCS“. Das Wappenschild zeigt eine Haspel mit kunstvoll verschlungener Borte, als Helmzier einen zwei Sicheln haltenden Mann.

Heute sind im alten Rathaus die Büros des Bürgermeisters und der Stadtverwaltung untergebracht sowie das Bürgerbüro. Der alte Ratssaal wird nur noch zu festlichen Anlässen genutzt und der Gemeinderat tagt im neuen Rathaus.

Standort

Das Alte Rathaus heute

Das Alte Rathaus heute

Das Alte Rathaus um 1930

Das Alte Rathaus um 1930

Das Alte Rathaus und der Apostelbrunnen in der Fußgängerzone

Das Alte Rathaus und der Apostelbrunnen in der Fußgängerzone

Der Kachelofen im Ratssaal

Der Pelikan auf dem Kachelofen im Ratssaal

Infos

1321 erstmals erwähnt, 1521 Einbau des Ratssaales.

Sie möchten mehr hierzu erfahren?
In der Tourist-Information beraten wir Sie gerne über unser vielfältiges Führungsangebot:

Tourist-Information Rottweil
Hauptstraße 21
78628 Rottweil

Tel: 0741 494 280
E-Mail: tourist-information@rottweil.de

Die Geschichte zum Nachlesen

Wenn Sie durch das schwarze Tor die obere Hauptstraße hinunter gehen, „die Stadt nab“ wie man in Rottweil sagt, dann stehen Sie nach wenigen Schritten vor dem alten Rathaus. Schon im Jahr 1321 ist in einer Stadtgerichtsurkunde von „unserem Rathaus“ die Rede. Damals war das Rathaus noch eingeschossig und das Erdgeschoss diente zu Marktzwecken. Im ersten Stock lag die Ratsstube, die man von hinten, „von dem gäßlin beim kirchhofe“ aus, über eine hohe Freitreppe erreichen konnte.

Um das Jahr 1500 herrschte in Rottweil rege Bautätigkeit. Der Turm der Kapellenkirche wurde um zwei Stockwerke erhöht, im Heilig Kreuz Münster wurde das gotische Langhaus errichtet. Auch das Rathaus wurde erweitert und erhielt die spätgotische Fassade mit den sechsteiligen Fenstern, um das Ansehen der Stadt in würdiger Form zu zeigen und den gesteigerten Platzbedarf der reichsstädtischen Verwaltung und Rechtsprechung zu entsprechen. 1521 wurde der Ratssaal für 80 Ratsangehörige eingerichtet – mit seiner Holztäfelung an den Wänden und einer Kassettendecke mit goldenen Rosetten im Stil der Renaissance. Die Fenster zieren kunstvolle Glasgemälde, z.B. die Rottweiler „Zit“-Scheibe, eine Sonnenuhr des Glasmalers Martin Pfender von 1553 mit dem Tell-Schuss im Oberbild. 30 Jahre später entstand der Anbau an der Nordseite des Rathauses und das Treppenhaus konnte ins Gebäudeinnere verlegt werden. Das Rathaus erhielt einen neuen Eingang mit Renaissanceaufbau. Über dem Balkon oberhalb des Fensters sieht man einen Pelikan, der seine Jungen mit seinem Blut ernährt – ein Sinnbild für christliche Nächstenliebe und bürgerlichen Gemeinsinn.

Schon 1604 wurde erstmals und sehr präzise das verspätete Erscheinen von Ratsmitgliedern bei Sitzungsbeginn vermutlich mit einer Geldstrafe bestraft. 1618 erscheint ein „Uhrlein uf dem Rathaus“ in den Stadtrechnungen.

1761/62 leisteten sich die Räte einen stattlichen neuen Ofen, weil der ruinöse alte Ofen „um besorgenden Unglücks… hinweggebrochen“ wurde. Der alte Ofen schien aber doch nicht so ruinös gewesen zu sein, denn Amtsbürgermeister Joseph Matthauer kaufte ihn für etwas mehr als 18 Gulden auf und übernahm ihn in sein eigenes Haus. Auch der neue Ofen hat auf seinem tönernen Oberbau einen Pelikan als Bekrönung.

Im Ratssaal traf man nicht nur wichtige Entscheidungen. Bei hohen Besuchen wurde auch kräftig getafelt und eifrig das „Zutrinken geübt“. Als 1705 Franz Maximilian zu Königsegg-Aulendorf die Huldigung der Stadt für Kaiser Joseph I. entgegennahm, verspeisten die hohen Herren beim Festmahl neben 8 ½ Dutzend Lerchen auch 440 Schnecken sowie Fische und einen Hirsch, der in Wacholderbeeren eingelegt war. Es gab Artischocken und ein Bote brachte erstmalig Kartoffeln aus Konstanz nach Rottweil. Zur Zubereitung all dieser Köstlichkeiten hatte man einen Zentner Butter verarbeitet. Man gönnte sich zudem kandierte Früchte, Zimtmandeln, Zitronenbisquit, Makronen und Konfekt von einem Konditor aus Rottenburg. Natürlich durfte ein guter Wein nicht fehlen und zum Schluss wurde Kaffee mit Kirschwasser gereicht. Zur Unterhaltung spielte die Musik und immer wieder wurde Salut geschossen.

1918 wurde das Rathaus mit dem Nachbarhaus, in dem die Tourist-Information untergebracht ist, vereinigt. Ein Blick auf den interessanten Erker lohnt sich. Im Mittelfeld befindet sich das sprechende Wappen des Bortenmachers Hans Caspar Sichler mit der Jahreszahl 1713 und den Buchstaben „HCS“. Das Wappenschild zeigt eine Haspel mit kunstvoll verschlungener Borte, als Helmzier einen zwei Sicheln haltenden Mann.

Heute sind im alten Rathaus die Büros des Bürgermeisters und der Stadtverwaltung untergebracht sowie das Bürgerbüro. Der alte Ratssaal wird nur noch zu festlichen Anlässen genutzt und der Gemeinderat tagt im neuen Rathaus.

Standort

Das Alte Rathaus heute

Das Alte Rathaus heute

Das Alte Rathaus um 1930

Das Alte Rathaus um 1930

Das Alte Rathaus und der Apostelbrunnen in der Fußgängerzone

Das Alte Rathaus und der Apostelbrunnen in der Fußgängerzone

Der Kachelofen im Ratssaal

Der Pelikan auf dem Kachelofen im Ratssaal